Skip to content

9N7AK QRT

October 19, 2012

Sadly, I finished my work in Nepal in August and am now QRT as 9N7AK. I am optimistic about the future of the hobby in Nepal. It has the support of the government and a number of young professionals have recently obtained their 9N1 callsigns. The trick will be to get them on the air and active.

My modest Nepal operation was a good learning experience. It was my first attempt to set up an HF station; my previous HF operation had been at my grandfather’s shack or during Field Day. The urban environment of Kathmandu also presented many challenges. I am grateful for the support and advice of Satish 9N1AA, Suresh 9N1HA, Dov 4Z4DX/9N7DX, Rob NZ6J, and others.

I’ve recently moved to Khartoum, Sudan, and hope to obtain my license here shortly. My experience in Nepal should help me assemble and operate a good station.

All QSOs have been uploaded to LoTW. All QSL cards received at my home QTH as of October 4, 2012, have been responded to direct or via the bureau. I will handle any remaining QSLs the next time I am in the U.S.

This blog will remain online. If anyone has updates on the Nepal licensing process or other Nepal amateur news, please send it along and I’ll consider updating the site accordingly.

See you on the air!

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. good luck in ur new qth,hny 2013 de dov 4z4dx/9n7dx

  2. pravin permalink

    I have a question – is 2 meter transmission licensed by Ministry of Communications for ham radio operators in Nepal. The earthquake work sounds fascinating because Nepal is a place that is susceptible to disaster and amateur radio could play a big role there someday. Thanks.

  3. Sam permalink

    Hi Pravin — Yes, 2m and 70cm are allowed to radio amateurs. There is even a 2m repeater installed at the Nepal Society for Earthquake Technology on the outskirts of Patan.

  4. pravin permalink

    Its Pravin again – I was wondering if the Nepal Amateur Radio League has a website or if there is a contact.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

